top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRevd John King

HE MADE THE POPE LAUGH

'Erasmus! What has he got to do with anything today?'


I should have known better than mention his name. Humpty thinks anything that happened more than 50 years ago is so much water under the bridge.


I explained. Five hundred years ago, I said, a tongue-in-cheek Erasmus, the outstanding scholar of the Renaissance, wrote ‘In Praise of Folly’ within a week while he was in England. It brought a smile to the face of the Pope and others. It also fired up outrage on the part of those humourless stalwarts in the Church who were in raptures about the status quo.


'So what?' said Humpty. Again, I made an effort to convince Humpty that we did well to learn from history. ‘Erasmus, I said, was a giant. He put the Church hugely in his debt by publishing a Rolls-Royce quality Greek New Testament.’


Humpty, I am sad to say, had switched off. But I persisted.


‘If Erasmus were alive today,’ I said, ‘he might well be writing in praise of our pet folly, obscurity. Better to soft-pedal precise statements of belief.’


When I said that, Humpty cheered up – kind of. I guess he thinks a sprinkling of religion is good for everybody, Let’s give society a dusting of stardust, provided it does not hamper the pursuit of pleasure. Goodwill, tolerance and co-operation are OK. Neighbourliness and helping lame dogs over stiles: that’s right and proper. Who wants to be told what to do? Who wants something more than getting along with each other? Who wants to hear that dread word ‘repent’?


By now Humpty was listening up. But I couldn't leave it there. I had to push harder – so I did. I put it to Humpty that necessity is laid upon us. (I was thinking of 1 Corinthians 9.16.) I suggested that there are times when we have to come down off the fence – or the wall. Of course, we have to recognise our limitations. They sometimes loom larger than we like to think. Even Jesus, I said, acknowledged his ignorance of some matters – see Mark 13.32. He was painfully clear on other issues. It’s possible that vagueness, calculated ambiguity, evading the issue, is a betrayal. We have to be wary.


'Wary!' exclaimed Humpty. 'I was wary sitting on the wall. And look what happened to me!'


FOUR CANDLES

‘He was my comedy idol,’ said David Walliams when Ronnie Corbett died at the age of 85. Four candles were on display at the funeral.


If you have a comment on this post please send an email to Revd John King at johnc.king@talktalk.net Edited extracts may be published. To forward this to a friend click on the chain icon below.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

CAN I BELIEVE THE BIBLE

Can I believe the Bible? Good question? No. Here’s an answer that puts us altogether on the wrong track. Think for moment about the story of the two sons, the prodigal and the older. What kind of answ

ASKING THE RIGHT QUESTIONS

It takes a good man to start asking questions. It takes a better man to ask the right questions. And it takes the best of men to find answers. Copernicus inherited an understanding of the solar system

BIBLE LABELS

Everybody knows MOTD, Strictly, Bangers and Cash. Living as we do in the days of smart one-liners, slick editing and honorific titles, we might have expected a major religious faith to be different. B

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page