top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRevd John King

MID-LIFE CRISIS

‘I started out with the best intentions. I could see where my career was heading and it looked good. I married a nice woman and we have two kids. We also have an allotment. Does that mean I’m ripe for a mid-life crisis?


‘My job has taken me up and down England. I’ve lived in fashionable areas and the wrong side of the railway tracks. I’ve been a commuter. I’ve lived in a seaside let, a new-build detached, an over-the-office flat. I can’t complain about any of those. I did notice that I was not as young as I used to be. I felt a fraud in a Father Christmas outfit. Then I thought it rather suited me. I got used to being beaten at chess by the younger members of the family. I realised that they were taking me to a football match rather than me taking them.


‘Yes, I’ve got a shed. I keep my spares, seedlings, tools, engine-oil and lawn-mower in it. It also has an easy chair, so I have all I need to rebuild the world. Oil companies, nation-states, aero-space labs: they all gain my attention but BP, Costa Rica, NASA have managed to get along without me so far and I’m not expecting a call any moment.


‘Church? Yes, I suppose I belong in a half-hearted way. Whenever I go (not very often), I find I’m the youngest person there. Nobody is interested in any opinion I may have on the being or otherwise of a Maker. They all seem to be tied up with questions of re-organising the church machinery or what vicars wear in church. Those of us who find it difficult enough to survive in the modern world, let alone pay homage to the one who’s responsible for it all, don’t get much help from that.


‘I don’t feel at home with the country I was born in. It’s changed. It’s not just that men wear baseball caps rather than trilbies or fedoras. It’s not the prominence of USA stuff on television. (I think ‘Law and Order’ is one of the best things we see.) It’s not the switch in school history and literature from William the Conqueror and Queen Anne to Abraham Lincoln and Mahatma Gandhi. It’s the feeling of being side-lined, marginalised.


‘So. I have a mid-life crisis. I don’t expect help from the church or the Open University or holidays in historic locations. I’ll just get on with it as best I can.’


If you have a comment on this post please send an email to Revd John King at johnc.king@talktalk.net Edited extracts may be published. To forward this to a friend click on the chain icon below.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

CAN I BELIEVE THE BIBLE

Can I believe the Bible? Good question? No. Here’s an answer that puts us altogether on the wrong track. Think for moment about the story of the two sons, the prodigal and the older. What kind of answ

ASKING THE RIGHT QUESTIONS

It takes a good man to start asking questions. It takes a better man to ask the right questions. And it takes the best of men to find answers. Copernicus inherited an understanding of the solar system

BIBLE LABELS

Everybody knows MOTD, Strictly, Bangers and Cash. Living as we do in the days of smart one-liners, slick editing and honorific titles, we might have expected a major religious faith to be different. B

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page